Gluttony and the other deadly sins

I had one of those “ah-ha” moments in church yesterday.  The topic was on living your life according the the wisdom in proverbs, specifically it was linked to drinking, but I felt like the message was speaking to me about my relationship to food.  Now this may be a touchy subject and frankly you may not agree with me…but I have said this before and I will say it again.  I am super happy that people read my blog and I hope that you find it encouraging, but frankly the blog is really about me and my journey.  It is just me working through my issues with food, body image and how I handle my emotional triggers…so it kind of falls under the following subject #sorrynotsorry.

The seven deadly sins are: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride.  Why these seven things I can’t say for sure, but if you look closely so will see that they have something in common.  They are all gifts from God, that when used for selfish, destructive ways end up severing your relationship with those around you.  Let me give you an example…the ability to rest is awesome, we all need those lazy days to recharge our batteries…taken to an extreme that can turn into slothfulness.  People learn that you don’t get stuff done, they can’t count on you and that you aren’t dependable. The gift has become something that can sever relationships and create unhealthy habits.

I believe that the same can be said for how we use food.  Good food and the enjoyment of that good food is a gift from God, this is talked about in both the Old and New Testaments. When we use food to stifle our emotions and create an unhealthy body we are guilty of gluttony.  I AM GUILTY OF GLUTTONY! I am guilty of many others things too…just ask my family and they will let you know that I am not perfect.  I bring this up because it has been a major spiritual issue that until very recently I have ignored.  I didn’t realize how this was impacting my relationship with others or my relationship with God…still working through the implications of what this all means.

This gets really controversial because people think that you are saying that all people who are overweight, just by virtue of being overweight, are sinning in some fundamental way.

I AM NOT SAYING THAT AT ALL…FULL STOP.

This is about how you use the gifts that God has given you and if we are using them in the way that God intended.

All parts of us are connected, that is why you can make yourself sick physically when you aren’t feeling well emotionally or spiritually.  I often focus on the physical aspects of my journey, but I am also working on getting healthy emotionally and spiritually too.  Those aspects are just a little harder to measure quantifiably.

Blessings,

NB

Leave a Reply

