The Final Frontier

This past week my family and I went camping…I am not what you would call a back-to-nature kind of girl, but I can appreciate a great sunset from the comfort of my lounger in my screened off porch…if you get my meaning.  My family loves to camp though, so each summer we pack up the trailer…tenting was so 2015…and get ready for extreme family bonding.

We explore, go on hikes and encounter wild life…some cute-like the grouse and her chicks, and some that send me screaming at a dead run for the trail head.  My children got to see Mom’s reaction when she saw a snake…bound to build memories to last a life-time.

We also eat camping food…this year that looked a little different…but with the proper planning, it can be done.  Between the s’mores, roasted hot-dogs, fries and other banned items, I can’t say that I wasn’t tempted.  I was craving starches like nobody’s business…but it just wasn’t worth it.  I was feeling energetic and the hiking was soooooooooo much easier this year…I think I even ran faster when I saw the snake.

My journey has really become more then a diet or a program, it has become about the way I want to feel and how I want to live my life.  It has become about playing with my kids and setting a good example for them.  It has become about feeling beautiful in my own skin.  I would never have believed that this would be possible six months ago when I started this journey.  AS I continue I am expecting it to get even better.

Blessings,

NB

Leave a Reply

