Getting my Groove Back

I had to take a little break from my exercise to help a foot injury heal.  Nothing big, but because it was on my foot it seemed to take forever.  Secretly I was a little happy about this because I had really been busting out and I thought that a little break would be well deserved…the result was a little different then I had expected.

I missed my walking, not the guilty I haven’t done any exercise today kind of missing, but actively craved being able to get up early and go for my half hour walk…colour me shocked!  I didn’t know what do to with this feeling.  If you had told me 6 months ago that I would be really upset by not being able to work out I would have laughed, taken a small water break and then laughed some more.

Here is what happened…I use my walking time to do any number of things, create my to do lists, listen to my crazy mix of country, 80s hair rock, Headly and Bon Jovi (don’t judge…I know some of you have Bieber on your play list).  I work out problems, think about my blog and just generally download my brain.  Things become clearer and I feel energized…it all went away.  I didn’t realize how much I depended on my walk to ground me and just work through things.

Today I got back into my groove and it felt great…now walking might not be your thing, but I encourage you to find out what it is and commit to doing it at least three times a week.  I went through a few things before I hit on what I wanted to do, so don’t get discouraged.  Find your groove.

Blessings,

NB

Leave a Reply

